Skip to content

Resisting the Urge to Fix a 4-Year-Old’s Grief

June 18, 2010

This morning, as his older brother was getting ready for his last day of school, a fresh wave of grief washed over the Diamond. Bottom lip protruding. Sad eyes. Real tears rolling down his cheeks.

You see, earlier this week, despite my dire warnings, he insisted on taking his beloved Lightning McQueen to a group playdate. “I’ll keep him safe in my Velcro pocket,” he said with intense earnestness. I told him I didn’t think it was a good idea, reminded him that he had lost Lightning before. “I’ll be careful, Mommy. I’ll take responsibility.”

I hate to be in the position to say I told him so, but, well … I told him so.

Natural consequences can make for tough lessons. Before we left the house that day, I had told him that there would be no new Lightning, so he had better make sure to hold on to him. This morning, watching those sad little tears that just appeared suddenly and seemingly out of nowhere, I had to hold on to my parental resolve. I had to resist the impulse to say, “Oh, sweetie, we’ll get a new one.”

That might have made us both feel better in the short term, but it would have been a lost opportunity for building his reserves of resilience for more daunting losses that likely lie ahead.

So though it would have been pretty easy to relieve his despair, I didn’t interrupt his grief. It was a cheap fix I think we’d have all come to regret.

Share this post:

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

3 Comments
  1. Thanks for bringing this home, Michelle. I am too often swayed to the cheap fix. Your resolve is an inspiration for mine.
    Laura

    • Michelle Buzgon permalink

      Thanks, Laura. At this very moment, he’s been alternately crying, yelling, demanding and begging for his Lightning McQueen cup for 15 minutes. (I made the tragic mistake of pouring his milk into the orange cup instead of the Lightning McQueen one.) We’ve got a ways to go.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lightning McQueen Found! Now What? « Grief, Interrupted

Leave a comment